DOES THE KETO DIET KILL? Doctor Reviews Low Carb Diets and Mortality

DOES THE KETO DIET KILL? Doctor Reviews Low Carb Diets and Mortality

Breaking news this week about the Keto Diet! A new article in the Lancet Journal associates low carb diets and animal products with increased mortality!

I have actually been doing the keto diet for the past 6 weeks, so I was very interested to read about these results. By the end of this video you will understand what this new article is saying and be able to make an educated decision about your diet!

I truly believe this information is very important – so SHARE this video with people you care about!! There’s a chance it could affect their life expectancy.

VIDEO BREAKDOWN:
0:00 What is Keto?
1:14 My experience doing the keto diet for 6 weeks
1:57 Understanding the study
2:17 Association between carb intake and mortality?
3:43 Animal vs. plant fat/protein and mortality?
4:41 Meta-analysis: is this applicable to me?
5:24 Bottom line:
6:10 My personal diet plan

For more information, check out the original article: “Dietary carbohydrate intake and mortality: a prospective cohort study and meta-analysis” by Siedelmann et al.
https://doi.org/10.1016/S2468-2667(18)30135-X

Special thank you to Dr. Mark Weatherall for helping with a literature search on low carb diets!

Thank you so much for watching!!
I’m looking forward to seeing your COMMENTS and THOUGHTS about the keto diet!

~ Siobhan (Violin MD) ~

#ketodiet #lowcarbdiet #doctorvlog

————————————————————————
OTHER VIDEOS YOU MIGHT LIKE:

Day in the Life of a Doctor: Emergency Intubation

Day in the Life of a Doctor: Heart Attack

Do Doctors Annoy Nurses?

————————————————————————-
♫ Background Music ♫

Stomp and Clap

Shooting Stars by Kronicle

Song: Fredji – Happy Life (Vlog No Copyright Music)
Music provided by Vlog No Copyright Music.
Video Link: https://youtu.be/KzQiRABVARk

50 Comments

  1. Daniel Kays on May 13, 2022 at 7:21 pm

    Mother Abigale was 106 years old and still made her own biscuits. Plus, she had natural immunity to Captain Trips.

  2. Kori on May 13, 2022 at 7:21 pm

    I’m not exactly sure why but my dads friend died after doing the keto diet. I’m guessing it’s different for everyone but after he completed the keto diet, he got weak and got a blood clot

  3. Noneya Business on May 13, 2022 at 7:21 pm

    Look do whatever you want but it’ll be a cold day in Hell before I stop eating real meat, and other animal products. As a rancher I know exactly how these animals are affected if you don’t use them as God intended. The dairy cow gets engorged, angry and can even die if you don’t milk her. The red angus beef cow gets old, run down with arthritis, and eventually dies a slow and painful death if you don’t give him a quick death in his prime and utilize his meat to sustain yourself and your family. I would argue that being a vegan actually makes you a bigger asshole to animals than someone like me who values their lives and the contribution they give to all other life on this planet.

  4. Soul Counselling on May 13, 2022 at 7:23 pm

    Modern clown doctors won’t tell you this. Fast for at least 20 hours a day and head for 23 hours. Autophagy was discovered and he won the noble peace prize for it. Zero calories/insulin for at least 20 hours daily with keto, will turn you into a self healing machine. I am 57 and started it 2 years ago. I reversed type 2 and now are told I look 37. I’m heading towards one meal a deal. Don’t listen to these chubby filthy rich MDs. They talk shit for the pharmaceutical devils. Carbs are evil. You don’t need them.

  5. Carmie Integrative Nutritional Chef and Coach on May 13, 2022 at 7:23 pm

    I’m not sure you have the right information! I think the longevity of life has mostly to do with stress. Looking carefully a diet it’s really funny that vegans are the ones that are lacking a great deal of vitamins and minerals start losing their hair start losing sleep get acne and have all kinds of side effects! Many vegans have gone into keto and carnivore all the way!

  6. Ted Cleveland on May 13, 2022 at 7:26 pm

    how hard is it for human finally accept that everything in this whole universe is about balance

  7. Rose Marie Thomas on May 13, 2022 at 7:29 pm

    Thank you love the study..to be honest in the bible.it tells you…even with the Daniel fast..all.about legumes veggie and nuts olive oil…to live longer…

  8. Tomas Razelo on May 13, 2022 at 7:30 pm

    I think a better breakdown is how each individual uses foods. Each persons gut bacteria is different.

  9. Snake Plissken on May 13, 2022 at 7:30 pm

    I generally eat eggs for brunch, maybe with some avocado/spinach/tomato. Then stir fry vegetables (up to 9 or 10 different veggies) with some protein like king prawns, mixed seafood or a small amount of shredded steak, pork or chicken with coconut or olive oil. I notice she didn’t mention fish or seafood, just assumed that we are all gorging on steak and bacon. Occasionally I will have a small steak with salad for a change, but no way I believe that is bad in any way.

  10. Nicolas Psomiadis on May 13, 2022 at 7:31 pm

    Except…

    Recent data in 170+ countries show data that animal based diet cohort had longest lifespan…

    Hong Kong has longest lifespan with high meat consumption.

    Other studies showed no benefit in cardiovascular risk and mortality with plant based diet…

    These are all observational data of course, fraught with confounding healthy and unhealthy user bias. Not to mention the cherry picking of data. Like the concept of Blue Zones…

    One can always cherry pick data and “studies” which push their narrative. But the bottom line is, if you’re going to accept that your BS observational data are valid, you have to acknowledge that the other guy’s BS counter data are just as valid.

    Take home: whether plant based or animal based, the common denominators should be avoiding processed foods, get regular exercise, don’t smoke, don’t drink, get some sunlight, lift some heavy things, etc

  11. Liriel HotShoot on May 13, 2022 at 7:32 pm

    Give us this day our daily bread means to seek the word of God a little each day. It does not mean baked carbohydrates must be eaten daily aside from popular belief. 😇

  12. Sky King on May 13, 2022 at 7:32 pm

    Yeah, since the vaccine poison push from the medical association in this country I take everything a doctor with two grains of salt and make my own decisions about my health. I am on the Keto life style and i won’t ever get off it. It has eliminated my diabetes, got me off of statin drugs for high cholesterol, dropped my blood pressure so, oh and lest we forget; it has knocked 75 pound’s off of my fat ass, so if it kills me, it will kill me thin and off meds. All i can say is have the hell at it. Ain’t nobody gettin outta here alive anyway.

  13. Aaron Dinga on May 13, 2022 at 7:34 pm

    That’s a good point about plant based nutrients. Overall though I don’t think this study says much either way about keto diets. KD carb percentage is much much lower than that ‘low’ 40% group. KD subjects are lumped in with tons of people who are definitely not close to ketosis.
    Also these trends could still be correlations. Where are the carbs coming from, as you mentioned? The average person consuming a high amount of carbs is likely getting those carbs from soda, junk food, etc. We also see strong correlations of life expectancy with income, and I’d imagine overall food quality trends closely with income as well. I would like to see carb intake vs income. Do affluent people who pay for higher quality food generally fall into this middle category of carb consumption?

    Anyway, I feel good on keto, I’ve lost weight and my blood pressure has improved. These two things correlate strongly with longer life so I’ll stick with it for now.

  14. David Roberts on May 13, 2022 at 7:36 pm

    Seriously doubt that many people stuck to any of the group diets for 30 years. I suspect funding from a source that would sku results.

  15. Kevin Lopez on May 13, 2022 at 7:38 pm

    yeah, there really is no one size fits all health recommendation one can make. I think the fundamental premise here is flawed.

  16. Richard Lumintao on May 13, 2022 at 7:38 pm

    vegetables dont work on my diet but when I started eating protein and animal fats my health is ok and no hypertension and my diabetes are now normal and my heart problem. Vegetables always feels me week no energy and look old because of sagging skin but in meat my skin is tighten and look fresh.

  17. susilu channel on May 13, 2022 at 7:41 pm

    Very realistic conclusion I agree with u

  18. Jenn Martinello on May 13, 2022 at 7:42 pm

    And how about those people that are actually allergic to certain vegetables the main staples? Did they not include that in the study demographics and meta analysis? People whose blood turns to sludge like many unbeknownst to them are allergic vegans? A vegan doctor almost killed my Dad him so why don’t you take that into account into the studies that there are people all over the world from the healthiest places in the world like Italy or a Blue Zone Sardinia and stuff like that! Thank you so much for your vegan advice. Have a great steak!

  19. Yaz X on May 13, 2022 at 7:44 pm

    Corrolation is not causation. We also have no idea what lifestyle these people had. there is a huge portion of ppl who are low carb that also just eat a ton of meat and garbage. It’s fairly common for those who consume high amounts of animal products to also drink and smoke. I doubt they accounted for this. Not to mention I don’t believe we have been studying KETO specifically, long enough to actually get this kind of information unless they are counting the kids with elilepsy which already have health issues to begin with.

    I am willing to accept that this study is probably true within the parameters of what it was looking at, but calling low carb Keto is misleading. There is a right and wrong way to do everything. You can be unhealthy as vegan, vegetarian, omnivore, keto, paleo, etc. Balancing a diet with any kind of restriction becomes a game of check the boxes and unless you are able to do that, it’s probably better for you long term, to just not do any kind of restrictions unless its ultra-processed foods.

    If you cut all of them out and just ate real food, you would be far healthier lol (Nutrition Student).

  20. Megan Mae on May 13, 2022 at 7:44 pm

    You can’t do real keto with plant based protein because of the carbohydrates

  21. Greg rowell on May 13, 2022 at 7:45 pm

    40% of calories from carbs is not low carb. Carnivore has totally improved my health, as well as the health of my wife. I’d also like to know where the funding for the study came from.

  22. Dan Vitale on May 13, 2022 at 7:52 pm

    Humans claim to be so intelligent, yet no one can figure out how to eat.

  23. BunnyStyle on May 13, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    I think the studies is lacking. Did they mention what kind of meats they were eating? Was 100% of their meat grocery (organic grass fed grass finished meats and fats?) Or were they eating cheap full of hormone and other chemically raised animals meat. I think that makes a HUGE difference. Apparently chemicals are more concentrated in the fatty part of the animal than the lean part. So.. If people are doing Keto diet and getting fat from animals yet they are eating really poor quality meat. That’s going to be the killer.

  24. Allie Gee on May 13, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    I learned you can find a study to prove both sides to any topic. Always

  25. TechSupport Line on May 13, 2022 at 7:55 pm

    After all a healthy diet is way better that the toxic package on 99% of stores’ shelfs.

  26. Allie Gee on May 13, 2022 at 7:55 pm

    That low carb group is barely low carb to begin with.

  27. Sid Bayou on May 13, 2022 at 7:56 pm

    It doesn’t matter what diet you’re on, eat less and
    work out more you should live just fine

  28. JohnnyFounder on May 13, 2022 at 7:56 pm

    Really nicely balanced information. Thank you

  29. Empty Open on May 13, 2022 at 7:57 pm

    Okay respectfully the lack of details about the study in the groups and their diets, what kind of carbs? The type of carbs you say you eat or absolute trash, i’ve been known to eat crappy carbs as well but without that knowledge tracking what carbs their eating the steady is greatly flawed. The same goes with the meat eaters what else are they eating along with their what kind of meat are they in grass fed, Super lame, fatty, and what else are they eating along with the meat. That makes a huge difference in Rhonda Patrick just put out a steady on this, How the red cards along with meat greatly reduces The harmful affects of red meat including cancer.

  30. Solaris on May 13, 2022 at 7:58 pm

    yeah. I’m dead.

  31. Relaxo on May 13, 2022 at 7:59 pm

    Keto is only viable short term, long term > death !!

  32. Charles Tuhena on May 13, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    <40% carbohyrate (as in the study) is not what keto dieters would call low carb. What turns might that u-shaped curve take if extended to the left?

  33. James Nelson on May 13, 2022 at 8:04 pm

    The flaw in the research is that people age in different ways. If my family members usually have long lives and we typically live to our 90s, then is living 4 years longer to age of 94 worth the effort if we aren’t in good shape mentally, how is our mobility at that age, how good are specific organ systems, how good is our bone structure?? There are so many outliers associated with the study to invalidate it, that it almost makes it nonsensical. Genetics plays a major role in how we age. If cancer runs in my family and I die of cancer at 50 is eating plant based going to give me more time? Its debatable!! The stats in your study may say one thing but the margin of error is surely astronomical when all factors of mortality, morbidity, and genetics are taken into account. Remember, its always easy to find the flaw and tear something down, it takes much effort to build a replacement.

  34. Lin Cho on May 13, 2022 at 8:04 pm

    Another poorly done epidemiology study, and not a clinical trial. The statement in the conclusion in the study says it all: "Participants who consumed a relatively low percentage of total energy from carbohydrates (ie, participants in the lowest quantiles) were more likely to be young, male, a self-reported race other than black, college graduates, have high body-mass index, exercise less during leisure time, have high household income, smoke cigarettes, and have diabetes." So the smoking didn’t have anything to do with higher mortality? What about sugar?

    Instead of reading these silly studies, I recommend learning about how the body processes carb/sugar. Here is one I recommend – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wBsnk2PtPeo

  35. Heather B. Denture DiVa on May 13, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    The keto diet was similar to the Atkins diet and if you remember when the Atkins diet first came out they’re saying get rid of carbs and sugar and just eat a ton of fat which fat can cause heart disease by the way but high amount of protein can also cause kidney disease kidney failure and kidney stones people need to educate themselves before they started diet that can kill them. Because if you look it up and actress died 2 years ago from the keto diet

  36. Legend-Kel'Thuzad on May 13, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    I crave fat from nuts and veggies more than animal fat. I think it’s cool that also happens to be the healthier route to doing keto. Thanks for sharing this information so I can make a educated decision regarding my health!

  37. KETO diet on May 13, 2022 at 8:08 pm

    Cool video!

  38. Carol Gorman on May 13, 2022 at 8:08 pm

    I have eaten Keto for over 15 years , I used to be overweight with lots of knee pain and lots of arthritis. Now I have no pain, weight is great, blood pressure is lower, cholesterol is lower. My hair is better and the skin is better than 20 years. I think studies tell you what you want them to say. Long term low carbers would disagree with you. Protein is always moderate not a carnivore diet. saying Keto kills is something I would expect on a cheap magazine cover, not from someone who has medical training. A ver small minded attitude

  39. Rom Rahman on May 13, 2022 at 8:08 pm

    Living longer is great but it’s not about quantity but about quality. Also sometimes researchers have an agenda so can’t trust them all.

  40. Carrier Sailor on May 13, 2022 at 8:11 pm

    Very appealing presentation, Violin, but you left a big honking question unanswered after you partially answered the question about what kinds of fats and proteins were eater. Why no answer to what kinds of carbs were eaten? Bread VS veggies only, some berries VS lots of much higher-suger kinds of fruit? Fruit juices, which are simply flavored sugar-water products? Without these answers and without addressing some questions raised below, I have to credit several doctors who hit lots of factors in keto. Mainly, it looks like one should try to hit and stay on ketosis for a month or so, then go back to glucose metabolism for a week or two, and then back. This makes Keto your main metabolic state, but leaves your metabolism flexible.

  41. Valerie Michel on May 13, 2022 at 8:11 pm

    Epidemiological studies are totally misleading and very inaccurate based on questionnaires. Much is also based on healthy user biases. None of these diets were low carb as in 20 to 50 grams total carbohydrates per day. Lancet also published the Eat Lancet Diet, recommending almost no animal products, showing a thumbnail of steak on a plate. This is part of the UNs agenda 21/2030 and the WHO, nothing to do with health and was developed by vegetarians and vegans.

    I will continue consuming healthy animal based foods with the fat.

  42. Aparv Kishnov on May 13, 2022 at 8:12 pm

    Keto kills! The event happens on your 237th reclusive abridged day.

  43. Phillip Ziegler on May 13, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    A second year med student. When I was a second year law student you would have been a fool to hire me to represent you in any serious litigation. And I been deep diving into the studies that claim high fat diet is dangerous for years and so far I have never found a study that was significantly more reliable than the Bible as a source of truth. And I am an atheist.

  44. Coach Xthea on May 13, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    This is so misleading. Glad you got your clicks, hope this doesn’t deter people from doing their own research.

  45. Slavery is Freedom, War is Peace on May 13, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    A huge problem with this is that many people eat a plant based diet because they think it is health and these people often lead a healthier lifestyle including exercise. Many people who eat a high meat protein diet do it because that is the way they were raised. This seems like the type of study you do when you are too lazy to do a proper study. Asking people to report on their own lifestyle is a very hit and miss affair. Too many variables to be able to take this seriously.

  46. Dan Duley on May 13, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    I was just thinking how the survey of dead people was conducted?

  47. Tabbs Smith on May 13, 2022 at 8:17 pm

    You cannot do a study just on a few people! And we all know eating meat that’s full of growth hormones and nastys. And maybe just eat organic fruits veg and meats ‘fish. And just stop eating sugar.

  48. Shane Simmons on May 13, 2022 at 8:19 pm

    I cured my crohns disease with a keto diet, which I managed all myself through YouTube such as watching Dr Berg! Smart guy
    We have to be strict and know our research, in what we eat on a keto diet.

    Most things that are harmful to the human body for an optimal keto diet, is ruled out.
    Bacon isn’t in a keto diet so there’s no point showing it as a meat source. if we have pork on a keto diet which we should because it has good benefits, it has to be the leanest of pieces.

  49. B D on May 13, 2022 at 8:19 pm

    Sure. Become vegetarian and live longer, but is that "living? Sure, I like nuts and nut buttters, use avocado oil and coconut oil, but along with my chicken and turkey and the occasional steak. Not gonna give up enjoyable food for the chance of extending my life for a year or two.

  50. Kylie Tripp on May 13, 2022 at 8:19 pm

    Im experienced with the keto diet. What I got from it was it is a good diet for people who hate working out. you will lose weight by cutting carbs out wether your active or not. however once you platue like I did at 160lbs being active is the only way to get past it. I was 300lbs 2 years ago btw.

Leave a Comment