Doctor Fact-Checks POPULAR Weight Loss Tips | Noom Review

Doctor Fact-Checks POPULAR Weight Loss Tips | Noom Review

Thanks to Noom for sponsoring this video! Click here to take the free online evaluation: https://bit.ly/doctormike_noom

There sure are a LOT of weight management tips across the internet, and after my research it appears finding the facts from trustworthy sources is harder than it seems. Heck, I’m a doctor and had trouble verifying a lot of this stuff, so how is someone without a medical degree supposed to find accurate and safe info? Today I’m taking a look at some popular weight loss tips around the internet to tell you what’s real and and what’s not.

I LOVE reading your comments and take your suggestions seriously. If there’s a subject you want me to discuss or something you’d like for me to react to, leave a comment down below. Many of my videos have been born out of suggestions directly from you, so don’t hold back!
-Doctor Mike Varshavski

Please SUBSCRIBE for new videos every Wednesday afternoon and Sunday morning! https://goo.gl/87kYq6

Let’s connect:

IG https://goo.gl/41ZS7w – Doctor Mike
Reddit https://www.reddit.com/r/DoctorMike/
Twitter https://goo.gl/kzmGs5 – Real Doctor Mike
Facebook https://goo.gl/QH4nJS – Real Doctor Mike

Contact Email: DoctorMikeMedia@Gmail.com

P.O. Box (send me stuffs):
340 W 42nd St # 2695
NY, NY 10108

** The information in this video is not intended nor implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. All content, including text, graphics, images, and information, contained in this video is for general information purposes only and does not replace a consultation with your own doctor/health professional **

50 Comments

  1. Felicat on September 9, 2021 at 12:01 am

    The smaller plate thing does in fact work. I’ve been on Noom for a couple of months now, and I am eating less while feeling just as full on less food/fewer calories. I’ve made a number of positive changes already and am now working on adding more activity. I have plateaued right now, which is frustrating, but is a normal part of the process. Thank you, Dr. Mike, for helping end the spread of bad advice and encouraging people to actually learn about their bodies.



  2. Blondie on September 9, 2021 at 12:02 am

    I would watch those shows like 600 pound life.. and Dr. Now put them on a 1200 calorie diet, 3 meals a day higher protein lower carbs… I found that in doing this (btw I started at 200, not 600) I found this worked the best… I tried the 6 smaller meals a day and hated that… I may try Noom… Thank you 🙂 OH and I love the quick interval training…



  3. Nikita Crystal Godwin on September 9, 2021 at 12:03 am

    I used to be seriously overweight according to my BMI. I’m now at a place where I’m considered healthy but even picking up food after eating, which is obviously supposed to happen, is difficult for me. Should I see a specialist, ie. Dietitians, weight loss specialist?



  4. Bezt Self on September 9, 2021 at 12:05 am

    Thank you so much for sharing this, it was a huge inspiration. Here is a great way I used to shed weight quickly as well, I hope this helps someone else as well =] @t



  5. Women, Health & Weight Loss with Leks Vucko on September 9, 2021 at 12:05 am

    While I agree with most, I disagree with using apps, because they can become super obsessive. You don’t have to track calories when you eat real food. It’s been proven over and over again that it’s not about the calories, it’s about what the body does with the food you eat. Food is the code for the body, just like 0s and 1s are for the computer.



  6. Rup3rt on September 9, 2021 at 12:07 am

    If you eat in a calorie defecit you will lose fat.
    You can’t argue



  7. DisobedientSpaceWhale on September 9, 2021 at 12:09 am

    Exercise has a negligible effect on weight loss. It’s diet diet diet.



  8. Jennifer Hegwood on September 9, 2021 at 12:10 am

    I have lost 18.6 pounds on keto diet in 18 days. 72 days to go. 90 day program



  9. Health & Fitness world on September 9, 2021 at 12:11 am

    Good



  10. Ja Carter on September 9, 2021 at 12:12 am

    Thats why all you can eat places use smaller plates. To look like you ate more.



  11. LunaCe on September 9, 2021 at 12:12 am

    I already don’t eat for 16 hours a day. Sometimes 24. It’s not a diet trick, I just spend all that time trying to figure out what to eat and then give up.



  12. Mandy X on September 9, 2021 at 12:13 am

    I know he’s not a fan of ruining food, but it helped me lose close to a hundred pounds. When I would go out to eat, I would ruin my food when I was full so I didn’t keep picking at it while we sat and talked. I didn’t do it at home though.



  13. Abdelmoumene El Mamoun on September 9, 2021 at 12:13 am

    okay now I’m confused…



  14. Sarah A on September 9, 2021 at 12:13 am

    I thought snacking causes your insulin to spike? That’s why intermittent fasting is great



  15. Naomi York on September 9, 2021 at 12:13 am

    Ok Mcdreamy😏



  16. Littia Tuskes on September 9, 2021 at 12:14 am

    I another thing my dad told me growing up to wait 15 minutes before get a another helping.



  17. SailorLaurell on September 9, 2021 at 12:17 am

    I love Dr. Mike, but I’m really deterred from watching this video. Isn’t noom like a scam (they just lost a 100 million dollar lawsuit) and to be sponsored by them really rubs me the wrong way.



  18. Littia Tuskes on September 9, 2021 at 12:17 am

    I another thing my dad told me growing up to wait 15 minutes before get a another helping.



  19. 57thorns on September 9, 2021 at 12:18 am

    About exercise and workout:
    I did military service before going to university, and gained 10 kg of mostly fat during that period. (Yes, the military made me fat and lazy!)

    In my second year a friend took me to aerobics class (but not the flashy aerobics from the movies, a more down-to earth cardio version with some light bodyweight training as well).

    I fell in love with exercising. I did not consciously change my eating habits (but I love to cook, and I felt great so my eating habits definitely improved). After about a month I noticed I was much more flexible, after three month the friend asked me if I had lost weight. I had no idea, but I had dropped about 5 kg, but probably gained at least 5-10 kg of muscles.

    I did manage to keep that up all through my 20s, but has since degraded, unfortunately. And when you used to be reasonably fit (as in aerobics class is a fun little brain exercise, but I need that other kind to get physical) getting older and less fit and trying to get back is hard. I still remember what my body felt like 40 kgs ago. 🙁



  20. Lost and Found on September 9, 2021 at 12:20 am

    Fun fact: Some of these you mentioned have similarities to the "pro ana" times. The mirror thing, using a different color of plate, exercise each time before you eat anything at all, chew more slowly, drink water to feel full and so on. Some of these pro ana sites had letters of "Ana" where "she" tells you to stop eating or else you’d loose her as a friend. This actually led to a disturbed relationship to food. For those that don’t know "pro ana" – it’s basically a community for anorexic people that support each other to loose more weight by simply not eating or eating very little. The techniques to suppress hunger as you mentioned where standard in the Ana community. It’s actually a serious matter.

    What happened to intuitive eating? That should be the only advice.



  21. Rory Christel on September 9, 2021 at 12:21 am

    The real benefit of green tea for weightloss is switching from other, calorie dense drinks. Milk? 100-160 calories in a glass. Fruit Juice? Similar calories. Soda? Right up there with juice.

    Green tea and coffee, without being drenched in honey or table sugar? 5 or less calories.



  22. Account 2361 on September 9, 2021 at 12:21 am

    Starting a diet today



  23. Shalala MeowMeow on September 9, 2021 at 12:22 am

    Noom nutrition advice is terrible can’t believe you’re recommending it.



  24. NPC_ HCA on September 9, 2021 at 12:23 am

    Couldn’t the high intensity exercise plan help people with panic attacks and anxiety? If you can train your heart rate to drop and raise effectively then perhaps it could help calm people down more easily



  25. Seth Miller on September 9, 2021 at 12:24 am

    If you wanna burn fat just use a skillet



  26. Andy Lyons on September 9, 2021 at 12:27 am

    Awesome New Tonic Supplement For Weight Loss



  27. Darren Watson on September 9, 2021 at 12:27 am

    An advertisement for NOOM



  28. Maria Blente on September 9, 2021 at 12:28 am

    Here’s my little ones:

    I allow myself one cheat-meal every week. For one meal, I don’t have to count calories, or even think about how much etc.

    This week it was pizza. But I didn’t overeat, I just stopped when I felt full.

    Instead of eating if you’re hungry at night, have a cup of herbal tea. You can get so many delicious herbal teas, that don’t even need sweetener to be good. And the hot liquid makes the hunger go away. If I’m hungry at night, I have tea.

    I can always have a taste of something. My boyfriend isn’t dieting, so sometimes he’ll be in front of the computer eating something delicious. I am always allowed to have a little of what he’s eating. One little cube of his chocolate, a few chips, etc. I am always allowed to just taste it.

    In a restaurant, go for the salad bar and fill up your bowl. When I have finished that bowl, I can have whatever I want. If I’m still hungry, or I want more, I’ll have another bowl of salad before I get something else. That way I fill up on veggies, not fries.

    "Would I eat an apple?". Apples are kind of boring to me. I don’t dislike them but I never crave them. So I ask myself if I want an apple. If the answer is no, I’m not really hungry, I might just be bored.

    Last, but not least: Stay hydrated! Sometimes I’m just thirsty, not hungry. If you feel hungry, have a big glass of water before you eat something. Sometimes you’ll find water hits the spot.



  29. Seth Miller on September 9, 2021 at 12:29 am

    Can you make another video like this I really want your help I’m trying hard to loose weight in 2 months I’ve lost 9 pounds 286 to 277 I keep having days were I give in to my sugar cravings and eat a bunch of sugar



  30. Lerato Mabuela on September 9, 2021 at 12:30 am

    I die when I do HIIT 😅😅 this is the 4th version of me🤭🤭🇿🇦



  31. superbearisalwaysthe on September 9, 2021 at 12:32 am

    Stopped watching after “sponsored by noom.” What’d I miss? Let me guess – fatphobic bullshit about fasting, restricting, and how to con yourself out of giving your body sustenance.

    This man isn’t honoring his Hippocratic oath (if he even is a doctor). Perpetuating messages like this (as he’s done in other videos) does SERIOUS harm.



  32. buff on September 9, 2021 at 12:32 am

    Another doctor just debunked some of Dr. Mike’s advices. And that doctor is Dr. Greg Doucette.



  33. Jayce Young on September 9, 2021 at 12:33 am

    do a colab with nurse liz!



  34. WolfGoddess on September 9, 2021 at 12:34 am

    I’ve been trying to lose weight. And I’ve been pretty successful for far. I’ve lost 15 pounds in a month. I do a walking workout video every other day for 30 minutes and then small workouts on my "off" days that only last less than 10 minutes but can be intense. I’ve learned that I did over eat by a lot. I’ve learned that my body can and will survive if I don’t give myself as much food, (not that I’m not eating) and being more selective with what foods I eat. I’ve swapped out bad carbs for good carbs, stopped drinking soda, and energy drinks. And am relying more on what my body can naturally put out instead of a "quick fix" which would burn me out at the end of the day. It takes time to learn what is good and not good. It’s not a quick thing. Especially considering I’m still well over 200 lbs and am obese. It’s taken me way too long to learn how to lose weight but one day at a time I’m learning more. Im really glad that I’ve been putting the energy behind wanting to be healthier and wanting to lose weight. I know eventually I will reach my goal so I can gloat to my doctor about my success. If you’re reading this. You can do it. One day at a time.



  35. John - HoyBoys - Hoy on September 9, 2021 at 12:39 am

    * Free Advice * – Eat Less!



  36. josh skoflic on September 9, 2021 at 12:41 am

    this guy is clueless



  37. rishard daniels on September 9, 2021 at 12:42 am

    I know this dude didn’t take the time to shoot his own b roll of him drinking green tea wistfully by the window 🤣 you’re too good for us doc



  38. Markova on September 9, 2021 at 12:44 am

    "Food should remain longer in the mouth so that part of its energy can penetrate the tongue. The tongue extracts the spiritual energy from the food that cannot otherwise be absorbed." – Beinsa Douno



  39. John Michael on September 9, 2021 at 12:45 am

    Doctors are really just practicing after all, right? Kidding. Noom does work from my experience



  40. 57thorns on September 9, 2021 at 12:48 am

    I have a story about water:
    Warm summer day, planning to spend the whole day in a forest close to a town. I only had a small water bottle, and that water was gone in less than an hour.

    I was getting tired and irritated. Luckily for us, there is a hospital close to the forest, and that means free water. The difference after getting a decent amount of water to drink was huge, I had lots of energy for the rest of the day (we did buy some large soda bottles for the extra water and some sugary calories, not the healthiest choice under normal circumstances, but in this case it worked out well).



  41. Weight Loss Exercises on September 9, 2021 at 12:50 am

    Great Content



  42. jaketaz on September 9, 2021 at 12:51 am

    I am trying to find an honest review of Noom, but this video is sponsored by Noom. How am I supposed to believe that you are honestly reviewing this service when they are paying you to review it?



  43. Darlene Cane on September 9, 2021 at 12:53 am

    Years ago a dietitian told me to NOT distract myself while eating because you don’t really notice how much you eat and will keep mindlessly eating



  44. Kevin Anaks on September 9, 2021 at 12:54 am

    Scientist K. Anaekwe: When I was overweight I knew what to do – I simply used the method the polar bears used ( hibernation). I deliberately slept longer to cutout meals – it worked — — To know more – Visit – wattpad – Book Title; WHAT DOCTORS DON’T KNOW ABOUT CANCER..



  45. hottea on September 9, 2021 at 12:55 am

    i want to know how to make not bitter green tea any tios



  46. HEALTHY DIET RECIPES on September 9, 2021 at 12:56 am

    To lose weight, you don’t have to starve yourself, it won’t help you. Instead, eat the right kind of food and the right fat, etc.



  47. Vienne Jolie on September 9, 2021 at 12:58 am

    Intermittent fasting can also mess with your hormones, especially for women. A lot of women can lose their period. Not everyone but it’s not unheard of and it’s something that specifically effects women.



  48. Cyn Quito on September 9, 2021 at 1:00 am

    buybestweightlosspills.store



  49. wendy kolpack on September 9, 2021 at 1:00 am

    LOVED THIS



  50. Ajay Mahawar on September 9, 2021 at 1:00 am

    The Agoge Diet works so great for those who want to build muscle. My muscles are enjoying it so much and are growing rapidly.