Dietitian Reviews the WORST (and More Helpful) Weight Loss Advice on TikTok

Dietitian Reviews the WORST (and More Helpful) Weight Loss Advice on TikTok

Hi everyone, welcome to Abbey’s Kitchen! Back by popular demand, today I will once again be reviewing TikTok and taking a look at diet & weight loss tips found on the app.

1) The information in this video is for education and entertainment purposes only, so you should always speak to a health care provider about your unique health needs.

2) The recommendations for each individual meal I review is designed to give you a variety of ideas on how to optimize meals for balance, variety and satiety. Whether or not one individual meal or even one day is balanced or “healthy” does not matter in the grand scheme of ones health especially if a person is eating in response to their physical and emotional needs. I give suggestions as examples and inspiration for you, but you can also gather this data for yourself over time by listening to your own body.

3) Please be kind in the comments, here and on the tiktoker’s channels.

4) A trigger warning that some graphics and discussions may be disturbing to some viewers so feel free to skip this video.

5) Don’t forget to subscribe to this channel and ring the little bell so you never miss out!

Research Links
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4960974/
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2775646/
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2279744/
https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/02640414.2020.1754716
https://jeatdisord.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s40337-015-0041-7
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23019316/
https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s11002-014-9301-6
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2556245/
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/18787524/
https://academic.oup.com/jcem/article/88/12/6015/2661518
https://search.proquest.com/openview/85da160b9499a72edbfcafd47812f144/1?pq-origsite=gscholar&cbl=44569
https://www.gastrojournal.org/article/S0016-5085(84)80178-X/pdf

Follow me on Instagram! @abbeyskitchen
https://www.instagram.com/abbeyskitchen/?hl=en

Check out my new MERCH line in support of Sick Kids Hospital https://abbeyskitchenshop.com/

Some important links:
My book, The Mindful Glow Cookbook affiliate link: https://amzn.to/2nev0lf
The best baby feeding & eating gear (amazon #affiliate) https://amzn.to/36h1r4a
My favourite supplements (amazon #affiliate) https://amzn.to/39pGV3j
My favourite kitchen appliances and tools (amazon #affiliate) https://amzn.to/2ubQnXV
My favourite healthy snacks (amazon #affiliate) https://amzn.to/2ucC6dD
My favourite healthy breakfast foods (amazon #affiliate) https://amzn.to/2SK8b6s
My favourite intuitive eating books (amazon #affiliate) https://www.amazon.ca/shop/abbeysharp… My favourite healthy meal ideas and snacks (amazon #affiliate) https://amzn.to/39oA3mC

Check out my blog for healthy recipes, parenting tips and tricks and busting nutrition myths and
diets: www.abbeyskitchen.com

If you liked this video, please leave me a comment below with your thoughts and let me know who you want me to review next!

Xoxo Abbey

Contribution by Rachel Levy

50 Comments

  1. Taylor Pratt on August 8, 2021 at 10:19 pm

    I literally lost over 200lbs without excersizing or eating (or not eating) in harmful ways. Just literally a healthy diet.

    *Now* I exercise, but only because I want to and I think it’s fun.



  2. Koda Ward on August 8, 2021 at 10:20 pm

    Anyone tried the Okibetonic Secrets (look on google search engine)? I’ve noticed many amazing things about this popular weight loss system.



  3. Naomi Y on August 8, 2021 at 10:23 pm

    isn’t lemmon water antioxident ?



  4. _bearix._ on August 8, 2021 at 10:23 pm

    this is 40 minutes it’s 6am 🤧

    i have to sleep



  5. Tarun S on August 8, 2021 at 10:24 pm

    Website called Agoge Diet is the best for your body transformation. I lost 20kg by following their diet plan (I also had cheat meals) and training plan.



  6. Holistic Rose on August 8, 2021 at 10:26 pm

    Can you do grocery hauls?! Those are my favorite videos to watch and would love an actual dietitian to do one 🙂



  7. Gweneth Hartnell on August 8, 2021 at 10:27 pm

    How effective is Okibetonic Secrets? We’ve noticed several amazing things about this popular weight loss diet plan.



  8. Memory Sakaria on August 8, 2021 at 10:31 pm

    Get muscles like me, I got 7kg of lean muscle mass in two months only. I visited website called Agoge Diet, they provided me with 30 days diet meal plan and training plan. Their tips helped me to gain muscles as well.



  9. heavy_metal_v0mit666 on August 8, 2021 at 10:31 pm

    Can someone explain to me what the difference of weight loss and fat loss is? 🙁



  10. Usman Waqar on August 8, 2021 at 10:33 pm

    So simple, yet so effective. That’s how would I describe diet plan from "Agoge Diet". Now I belive that simplicity is the key to brilliance.



  11. Mira Edorra on August 8, 2021 at 10:34 pm

    Anyone tested out the Okibetonic Secrets (do a google search)? I’ve heard numerous amazing things about this popular weight loss system.



  12. Ella Brookes on August 8, 2021 at 10:35 pm

    The arrogance of youth. I bet these teenagers look back on their tips and hacks and cringe in a few years.



  13. Leica Fox on August 8, 2021 at 10:36 pm

    I don’t disagree with what you’ve said about the importance of diet & exercise when it comes to losing weight. If I’m understanding you correctly, you’re saying that diet is more important when it comes to weight loss.

    However for me, starting with exercise, specifically muscle building using calisthenics (pushups, squats, etc..) was a game changer. It was the key to me properly recognizing how much better I felt after eating an avocado .vs. how I felt after eating some saucy, greasy, chicken wings. Exercise also gave some immediate "reward" feeling (endorphins) that I just didn’t get as a lifelong chubby kid by choosing a salad instead of a Big Mac. After trying and failing to change my diet for years, exercise was what really made me lose the weight and change my lifestyle & diet to keep it off.

    Longtime lurker, first time commenter 🙂 Thanks for sharing your expertise!



  14. Ava Williams on August 8, 2021 at 10:36 pm

    I just congratulate myself with a sliced out bananna with strawberrys or a sliced banna with some toast with butter Lol i only like healthy food not that stuff thats bad for your body



  15. Tye Wolpert on August 8, 2021 at 10:36 pm

    Yeah, I too am guilty of jumping from diet plan to others as well, I do believe that I must have tested every fat loss program that was available, but eventually not one of them made it easier for me to reduce and keep the weight off. I ended up trying for the very last time using the Okibetonic Secrets simply because my friend who told me incredible things about it and so far to date I have successfully lost 19 pounds in 4 weeks!



  16. Pages of Isabel on August 8, 2021 at 10:38 pm

    Facts! That’s why I only do exercise I like! I hate the treadmill! so i don’t do it. for cardio i swim because that’s what I love! Sometimes the gym is a task so I join an aeorbics class or something! It’s all about doing something you enjoy, it shouldn’t be a chore



  17. Gabriella Cruz on August 8, 2021 at 10:43 pm

    What about apple cyber it helps me get full and I drink lemon water not to lose but make me feel refreshed 🤍 and yea and the cucumber and pineapple and ginger and lemon made me loose 5 pounds 🙃



  18. Anusha Amrutha on August 8, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    Want to lose weight ❓
    Want to gain weight ❓
    Want to maintain weight ❓
    Want good skin ❓
    Find some good nutrition  for your body ❓

    Do your friends,family and relatives want same ❓

    *Reply in : Yes/No*

    (*Result/income/achievements may vary from person to person)

    Regards
    *Coach Anusha* 8187837198



  19. Taren Donneaud on August 8, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    Have you done any videos on nutrition after weight loss surgery?



  20. Petra Christensen on August 8, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    Lemon water in the morning to lose weight? It works! You pour it in two bottles and do some hammer curls…



  21. Trin Murray on August 8, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    Anyone looking for a yummy and fairly healthy dinner idea I recommend PF Changs chicken lettuce wraps. There’s lots of copycat recipes online. I just made those for dinner and they were so yummy!



  22. Michelle Mercil on August 8, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    Counting calories helps me because it makes me think more about the foods I choose to eat. When calories aren’t on my mind I eat whatever is around or whatever I’m craving (which is always deep fried or sweet). When I have to consider the calories in a bag of chips verses veggies and humus, my brain and stomach want to eat more so I’ll choose the healthier option. But I’ve never been someone who falls into extremes or has an addictive personality so I can see how obsessive counting can be detrimental to certain people. Thanks for the information!



  23. Kristen Harpster on August 8, 2021 at 10:49 pm

    Love your channel! So educational, entertaining, and honestly affecting me in such a positive way in terms of nutrition and perspective on my body and weight. Thank you for the content you create!



  24. Lord pirate on August 8, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    When someone asks me "How to get a six pack?", I always recommend website *Agoge Diet* because you get personalized DIET plan, TRAINING plan, FITNESS tips, and HEALTHY recipes. It’s everything you need to get six pack in one month!



  25. Sarah Galler on August 8, 2021 at 10:55 pm

    Exhibit C is fantastic! I follow her on IG and have even put some of her tips and recipes to use



  26. Summer Stine on August 8, 2021 at 10:56 pm

    I love that for me I did cross country and any time I go for a run I feel so good about myself and I love it. Do I do it much? Not really. But instead of feeling like torture it always just makes me happy.



  27. Jeffery Hensley on August 8, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    Any one tested out the Okibetonic Secrets (look on google search engine)? We have noticed many amazing things about this popular weight loss secrets.



  28. 0RAYE0 on August 8, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    Could you ever possibly talk about teen nutrition? I always try to do research on how to eat healthy as a 16 year old female but I always get such mixed advice and it feels like I need to change something everyday. But if you’re unsure about teen nutrition then you don’t have to bother.



  29. Asha Khan on August 8, 2021 at 10:58 pm

    Hey, I don’t mean this in any malicious way- but would somebody show me how to NOT BE SENT TO THIS CHANNEL VIA AUTOPLAY? I really really do not want to watch this woman (I’m sure she’s great but please). Its getting really annoying I’m almost exclusively being brought to her videos after watching anything.



  30. wwkcd ? on August 8, 2021 at 10:58 pm

    I have such a terrible tangled convoluted relationship with food, and having all these myths I’ve internalized since i was 11 debunked is incredibly therapeutic



  31. Simone Chèrie on August 8, 2021 at 10:59 pm

    I’d love to know if we really need a gallon of water a day. It sucks.



  32. Demetrius Harper on August 8, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    Guys, build muscle doesn’t have to be hard (I used to feel it did). I’ll give you some advice right now. Search a diet plan called Okibetonic Secrets. Seriously, that program has changed my life. I probably should not even be mentioning it because I do not want a bunch of other folks out there running the same "game" but whatever, I’m in a great mood today so I’ll share the wealth haha.



  33. corduroy a on August 8, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    Some of these are straight from pro-eating disorder communities :'( I drink tea because my body doesn’t have to waste energy heating it up! making hydration a lot easier and it’s great personally for my gut inflammation.



  34. Nastas Fedorintsev on August 8, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    What is Okibetonic Secrets? Does it work? I hear many people burn their weight with this popular weight loss method.



  35. simoneaux15 on August 8, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    It’s tik tok, what did you expect? 😂🤣



  36. Connie Mills on August 8, 2021 at 11:03 pm

    I used to have the mentality of workout because I hate my body but after binging the avengers films during the mcu I want to workout so I can feel strong enough to be in the universe (will likely never happen but it’s fun to use it as motivation)



  37. Sara O. Thompson on August 8, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    "A glass of wine on the weekend." I only drink on the days that have vowels in them.



  38. Sarah L- on August 8, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    For me, thirst and hunger often feel exactly the same… But I’m still recovering from an ED and also have ADHD, and one of the results of anorexia is that I have a *terrible* brain body relationship. I feel ? *something*? and then have to go on a quest to figure out what is going on. Am I sad? Am I hungry? Have I had water in the last hour? What is it??? Talk to me body!!!



  39. Anna Boivin on August 8, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    There are so many people who have lost up to 200 lbs in a year. That is FAR more than 1-2 lbs a week. People with a lot of weight to lose will certainly lose more than this. Losing 5 lb in the first week of just about ANY diet programme is fine as a lot of this will be ‘water weight’. Yes it will slow down and to what extend depends on their starting weight.



  40. Lea Pistorius on August 8, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    Is anyone else disturbed by her phone floating?



  41. Lolok007 on August 8, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    Water won’t burn your calories but it will still help you losing weight. I drink lots of water every summer+swim a lot and that’s why I lose weight on summer. On winter it’s a different story for me cuz I don’t drink lots of water thrn



  42. Bodhi Campbell on August 8, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    As expert, I’m sure Okibetonic Secrets is great way to lost lots of weight. Why don’t you give it a chance? maybe it can work for you too.



  43. sarah doe on August 8, 2021 at 11:08 pm

    lemon water is a mild laxative, so people see the scale go down and think it’s fat loss without taking into account the diarrhea they had right before weighing themselves.



  44. seggsymlbfan74 on August 8, 2021 at 11:08 pm

    the "tips" from those tik toks r literally the pro ana tips i used to follow when i was anorexic-💀 pls dont follow them guys



  45. Abby Rowe on August 8, 2021 at 11:09 pm

    Guys, losing weight doesn’t have to be hard (I used to feel it did). I’ll give you some advice right now. Look for a diet plan known as Okibetonic Secrets. Seriously, that diet plan has transformed my life. I probably should not even be talking about it cause I do not want a bunch of other guys out there running the same "game" but whatever, I am just in a good mood today so I’ll share the wealth haha.



  46. fracturedsporks on August 8, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    I would love a Bobby Parish shopping review



  47. Shaheen Akhter on August 8, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    Hy



  48. A.J. Lare on August 8, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    Ummm you do know fiber can back someone up though, right? Also, if you’re not eating much, THERE ISN’T MUCH TO COME OUT! THAT’S SIMPLE! there aren’t any actual studies proving that fiber is beneficial… for instance, my mom eats the typical "healthy" foods, flax seeds, veggies, ect… and she just had to use an enema… which I had told her a while ago that that very thing can happen…I do tons of prolonged fasting, I don’t have much to digest, therefore I don’t have much to get out… now on days I do eat, yeah, it happens pretty quick.. I have no blockages…smh…



  49. Heliana Banes on August 8, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    Exercise because it is amazing for your mental health and you will grow to love your body more if your mental health improves!



  50. abbie bangtannie barrera on August 8, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    as a 20 years old I want to be healthy what I eating thanks for this Abbey I’m scared some tiktok weight loss advice